Share this article    



Description of five new genera (Acari, Eriophyoidea) from South-Africa

Meyer-Smith, M.K.P. and Ueckermann, E.A.

1995 - Volume: 36 Issue: 3 pages: 229-240


Eriophyoidea Diptilomiopinae Phyllocoptinae Aequsomatus Africus Costarectus Porosus Tergilatus


Five new genera collected on indigenous plants in South Africa are described and habitus figures are presented. Africus, with its type species A. psydraxae, belongs to the subfamily Diptilomiopinae of the family Diptilomiopidae. The following four genera belong to the subfamily Phyllocoptinae of the family Eriophyidae: Aequsomatus with its type species A. lanceolatae, Costauectus with C. zeyheri, Porosus with P. monosporae, Tergilatus with T. sparsus. All the new species are leaf vagrants.

Please read and follow the instructions to post any comment or correction.

Article editorial history
Date published:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
1995 Meyer-Smith, M.K.P. and Ueckermann, E.A.
 Download article

Download the citation
RIS with abstract 
(Zotero, Endnote, Reference Manager, ProCite, RefWorks, Mendeley)
RIS without abstract 
(Zotero, BibTeX)
(PubMed, Txt)
Article metrics
Number of distinct pdf views

Cited by: view citations with

Search via ReFindit